The Most Exciting Place On Earth, Also: Kansas

I head north from Oklahoma into Kansas. To be honest, I’m excited as all get out. When you hear “Kansas”, you think “land of possibility”. You could get bored of the nothingness and escape to a magical world; you could get bored of the nothingness and go hunting demons; you could get bored of the nothingness because you’re from another planet; you could get bored of the nothingness but be comforted by the fact that one day you’ll look like Bruce Willis. Truly, the possibilities of nothingness are endless.

Jensen Ackles I have ten pictures of Kansas and they’re all of a field, so I’m going to have to spice it up somehow.

I’m visiting the town of Lawrence, KS, the long time home of William Burroughs and the birthplace of the Winchester brothers. Although the exact reason I came to this hub of demon hunters (incidentally, “William Burroughs: Demon Hunter” is mine, no-one else do that) is for the slightly more flimsy reason that Josh Ritter sang about it:

Seriously. Just pictures of fields.

Okay. One thing I’ve enjoyed about travelling across the US is that even when it seems like a place is meeting all your preconceived notions of it, something will come along to shake that view. Kansas is no different, even though I’m giving it a rough time. Are you ready for the moment of epiphany with Kansas? Hold onto your tits: it’s quite hilly.

Elevation Look at that change in elevation!

… It mightn’t be the biggest revelation of all time, but I had always pictured Kansas as spirit-level flat. Alright, fine, here’s the Winchesters again:

WinchestersLawrence is a pretty nice place and the people there are friendly, I just didn’t do much. I’m heading north now to Nebraska. Will it be more interesting? Yes, actually. I mean, legitimately, some interesting stuff up there. But before I leave you, I know what you all want to see, I’ve been pimping it all post. Let’s have a look at those fields:

Kansas Fields Kansas Fields Cor.

One thought on “The Most Exciting Place On Earth, Also: Kansas

Leave a Reply

